Scientific Writing

Scientific Writers Series
Professional Development Webinars


Center for Disease Control and Prevention

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, in collaboration with TEPHINET and the World Hypertension League (WHL), hosts virtual monthly professional development webinars to build the noncommunicable disease (NCD) capacity of the field epidemiology training programs (FETPs).

We are pleased to announce the current 6-part FETP NCD professional development series on Research Methodology from January 18 through June 20, 2024. The series is taught by Professors Daniel T. Lackland, Michael A. Weber, and Paul K. Whelton of the WHL.

We invite you to participate in the webinars and learn more about topics related to research methodology. Please note that participation in the webinars requires you to register. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar series.

Please find the details of the remaining parts:

Part 4: Epidemiology Abnormality, Risks, and Assessment

When: Thursday, April 18, 2024 at 8:00am EDT | 6:00am CST | 12:00pm GMT | 3:00pm EAT | 5:30pm IST | 7:00pm ICT

Registration link: Part 4 of 6: Registration link

Session Description: This session will go over the ways of defining abnormal and risks, including the metrics and quantification of abnormal and risks.

 
Part 5: ROC Curves         

When: Thursday, May 16, 2024 at 8:00am EDT | 6:00am CST | 12:00pm GMT | 3:00pm EAT | 5:30pm IST | 7:00pm ICT

Registration link: Part 5 of 6: Registration link

Session Description: This session will introduce hypothesis testing with the ROC curve approach. It will also go over how to describe the use of the ROC curve methodology and introduce the Area under the ROC curve (AUC) methodology.


Part 6: Tools for Assessing Research Study Evidence – Quality of the Studies

When: Thursday, June 20, 2024 at 8:00am EDT | 6:00am CST | 12:00pm GMT | 3:00pm EAT | 5:30pm IST | 7:00pm ICT

Registration link: Part 6 of 6: Registration link

Session Description: This session will describe the various methods for assessing the quality of different studies. It will also identify resources and instruments for assessing study results.



Please see links below for recordings of past sessions of the series.

Part 1:  Types of Studies and Risk Estimates on Thursday, January 18, 2024, at 8 am EST.

 Link to the recording: 6-Part Research Methodology Series: Part 1- Types of Studies and Risk Estimates


Part 2: Bias in Epidemiological Studies on Thursday, February 15, 2024 at 8:00am EST 

Session Description: This session will introduce the concept of bias and explain how to assess it. You will also learn about the concepts and assessment of random error.

Link to the recording: 6-Part Research Methodology Series: Part II - Bias in Epidemiological Studies

Part 3: Confounding

Session Description:
This session will describe confounding and its effects on study results. It will also cover the strategies to reduce confounding.

Link to the recording: 6-Part Research Methodology Series: Part III - Confounding

Questions and Answers 

Please find the questions and answer documents from the monthly webinars. 

Scientific Writing Course Online Library

pdf

Q&A - Jan 18, 2024

Size: 198.09 KB
Hits : 184
pdf

Q&A Part2 - Feb 15, 2024

Size: 183.00 KB
Hits : 129
Copyright © World Hypertension League 2024. All Rights Reserved.

Search

Smart Search